Scientific Program

2017 Preliminary Conference Program

Sunday 2nd July 2017

4:00pm - 5:00pm Public Lecture: Prof Anthony Capon
5:00pm - 5:30pm Welcome and Awards Ceremony
5:30pm - 6:30pm Bazeley Oration - Prof Mariagrazia Pizza
6:30pm - 8:30pm  Welcome function featuring Tastes of Tasmania/Poster Session I


Monday 3rd July 2017

7:30am - 8:30am Nancy Millis Student Breakfast
8:30am - 9:15am Plenary 1: Prof Robin Patel
9:15am - 10:00am Plenary 2: Prof Christopher Sassetti
10:00am - 10:30am Morning Tea

10:30am - 12:00pm      


Laboratory Processes and Automation
Dr Maryza Graham
Dr Murray Robinson    
Dr Michael Maley
Proferred Papers   

Arboviruses and Host Pathogen Interactions A
Prof Philip Winstein
Dr Emily Flies
Dr Prasad Paradkar
Proferred Papers

Marine and Antartic Microbiology
Prof Christian Voolstra
Dr Shauna Murray
Dr Jean-Baptiste Rana
Dr Megan Huggett
Proferred Papers

Surface Structures
and Complex Machines
Prof Trevor Lithgow
Dr Denisse Lleyton
Dr Nichollas Scott
Proferred Papers

12:00pm - 1:30pm Nancy Millis Student/ECR Lunch Lunch - CDS Meeting Lunch 
Clinical Serology,
 Food Microbiology,
and Molecular Microbiology SIGS
1:30pm - 3:00pm

Plenary Session:  ASM/BD Awards
Claire Gorries (VIC)
Riti Mann (NSW/ACT)
Matthew Macowan (SA/NT)
Roger Latham (TAS)
Melinda Ashcroft (QLD)
Shakeel Mowlaboccus (WA)

3:00pm - 3:30pm Afternoon Tea

3:30pm - 5:00pm


WGS in Clinical Diagnostics
Prof Ben Howden
Dr Cristiane Honisch
Dr Dieter Bulach
Proferred Papers

Virus-Host Interactions
Dr Sonja Best
Dr Francesca Frentiu
A/Prof Peter Speck
Proferred Papers

Innovations from Genomics
Prof Stuart Cordwell
Prof Ian Paulsen
Dr Brian Forde
Proferred Papers

Bacterial Virulence Mechanisms
Prof Christopher Sassetti
Dr Martina Sanderson-Smith
A/Prof Charlene Kahler
Dr John Atack
Proferred Papers

5:00pm - 5:30pm Break
5:30pm - 7:00pm  Pittard Award Lectures - Johanna Kenyon & Si Ming Man

Fenner Award Lectures - Hayley Newton & Catherine Satzke
7:00pm - 9:00pm Trade Night / Poster Session II


Tuesday 4th July 2017

8:30am - 9:15am Plenary 3: Prof Sonja Best
9:15am - 10:00am Plenary 4: Prof Bill Petri
10:00am - 10:30am Morning Tea
10:30am - 12:00pm        
 New Clinical Microbiology Diagnostics
Dr Robin Patel
Prof Tim Inglis
Dr Snehal Jadhav
     Proferred Papers     
Bacteriophage and Mobile Elements
Dr Jeremy Barr
Dr Josh Ramsay
Dr Mike McDonald
Proferred Papers
Environmental and Food Microbiology
Dr Jim He
Prof Paul Stoodley

A/Prof Martyn Kirk
A/Prof Tom Ross
Proferred Papers
Host-Gut Pathogen Interactions
A/Prof Phil Sutton
A/Prof Richard Ferrero
Prof Dena Lyras
Proferred Papers
12:00pm - 1:30pm Annual General Meeting Lunch


1:30pm - 3:00pm


Publishing in Nature Journals
Dr Michael Chao
Associate editor of nature Microbiology

Education Symposium
Prof Sue Merkel

ASM History Symposium
Dr Heather Haines
Dr Diane Lightfoot
Dr Cheryl Power
3:00pm - 3:30pm

Afternoon Tea

3:30pm - 5:00pm  STI's and Diagnostics
Prof Monica Lahra
Prof Peter Timms
A/Prof David Whiley
Proferred Papers
Human Microbiome Pathogens A
A/Prof Glen Ulett
A/Prof Adam Polkinghorne
Dr Jai Tree
Proferred Papers
Ecological and Applied Microbiology A
Dr Sasha Tetu
Dr Phil Bond
Dr Perran Cook

Proferred Papers
Host-Pathogen Interactions B
Dr Bill Petri
A/Prof James Fraser
Dr Andreas Kupz
Dr Maria Kaparakis-Liaskos
A/Prof Antje Blumenthal
Proferred Papers
5:00pm - 5:30pm Break
5:30pm - 6:15pm

ASM/bioMerieux Award Lecture - John Merlino

Lyn Gilbert Award Lecture - David Whiley

6:15pm - 6:30pm Break
6:30pm - 7:30pm Rubbo Oration - Prof Pascale Cossart
7:30pm - 9:00pm Rubbo Supper



Wednesday 5th July 2017

9:00am - 9:45am Plenary 5: Dr Christian Voolstra
9:45am - 10:30am Snowdon Lecture: Prof Bart Weimer
10:30am - 11:00am Morning Tea
11:00am -  12:30pm                    

Human and Veterinary Infections
Prof Stephen Djordjevik
Dr Mark Davies
Dr David McMillan
Proferred Papers 

Virulence Mechanisms
A/Prof John Boyce
Dr Nick West 
Dr Hayley Newton
Proferred Papers

Food Microbiology
Dr Kate Howell
Dr Van Ho
Dr Thea King
Proferred Papers

Microbial Evolution & Pathogenesis
Prof Alex Adrianopoulos 
Dr Diane McDougald

Dr Kate Seib
Proferred Papers
12:30pm - 1:30pm Lunch: SIG Meeting - Public Health Microbiology   Lunch: SIG Meeting - Education SIG    Lunch: SIG Meeting - History SIG   Lunch: SIG Meeting - Microbial Ecology SIG

1:30pm - 3:00pm

Planetary and One Health
Prof Tony Capon
Prof Phil Boyd
Prof Tom Riley
Proferred Papers 

Gut Microbiome
Dr Claire O'Brien
Dr Shakuntla Ghodania
Dr Rajaman Eri
Proferred Papers

Ecological and Applied Microbiology B
A/Prof Pauline Mele
Dr Chris Greening
Dr Mat Watts
Proferred Papers

Human Microbiome Pathogens B
Prof Tim Stinear
A/Prof Ruiting Lan
A/Prof Ulrike Kappler
Proferred Papers

3:00pm - 3:20pm Closing Address